Meet Kylie of Fabulously Fierce


In the coming weeks I’ll be featuring several other Etsy artisans on my blog. Most are fellow members of my Etsy Teams: Etsy for Animals, Attack of the Craft, Etsy Moms and the Georgia Etsy Team. Some are random Etsy sellers <strike>who I stalk</strike> whose work I love and admire. All of them are unique and have interesting stories to tell. I hope you enjoy getting to know them!

Kylie is a fellow member of the Attack of the Craft Team who makes awesome pet accessories and gorgeous corseted lampshades.

How did you come up with your shop name?
After watching Project Runway a few seasons ago, it became a running joke with my husband to call everything “fierce”. When I was trying to come up with names for my home decor shop, I tried a whole slew of combinations to go with fierce, Fabulously Fierce just kinda clicked. When I opened the pet shop a year later I wanted to stick with the brand so Fabulously Fierce Pets it was!

When did you start Fabulously Fierce Pets?
I’ve been crafting since I can remember, I used to make very stylish 80s clothes for my Barbie out of foil! I opened my home decor shop in the beginning of 2008 and a little over a year later I opened the pet shop.

What made you want to start selling your creations?
I had a friend who told me about Etsy, and I figured I would give it a shot!

Please describe your creative process?
I like to work in phases. So I will cut all my webbing and ribbon in one big batch, then I sew them all together, after that I start to assemble the collars and leashes. There are groups of product in various stages all over my craft room.

What inspires you?
My two dogs Henry and Willow!

Are your items custom or premade?
Most are pre-made but I do take custom orders often.

Tell us two of your short term goals and one long term goal:
Short term: I would like to get a line of dog clothing up in the shop and get my items in some local pet stores. Long term: Quit the day job!

Walk us through a typical day in your life:
Get up, go to work, sit in a cubicle all day, check attackofthecraft.com often, maybe do some work, go home, walk the dogs, sew a little, throw the ball for Henry, sew some more, check attackofthecraft.com, throw the ball, eat dinner, throw the ball (notice a theme???), then relax and watch some TV with the man (while throwing the ball). On the weekends I usually get up early while the man and the dogs are still asleep and craft for a few hours.

What is your favorite item in your shop at the moment?
I really love my collar and leash sets. I think they are bright, fun and super cute!

Where on the web can you be found?
www.fabulouslyfiercepets.com
www.fabulouslyfiercepets.etsy.com
www.facebook.com/fabulouslyfierce
www.twitter.com/faboofierce
www.faboo.tumblr.com

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kylie
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 16:24:09

    Thank you so much for the feature Kenzie!!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. bewhiskered
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 20:33:26

    Absolutely! I swear, if my cat weren’t the king of losing collars I’d be all over yours.

    Reply

  3. Pili
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 04:08:33

    I love me some Fabulously Fierce Pets! And what a great feature!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

