Meet Emily of Yarnmiracle

On Mondays I feature other Etsy artisans on my blog. Most are fellow members of my Etsy Teams: Etsy for Animals, Attack of the Craft, Etsy Moms and the Georgia Etsy Team. Some are random Etsy sellers who I stalk whose work I love and admire. All of them are unique and have interesting stories to tell. I hope you enjoy getting to know them!

Emily is a fellow member of the Etsy for Animals Team and a fellow Alabamian. (Although I now live in Georgia, I was raised in Alabama.) She makes the most adorable knitted critters you’ll ever see.

How did you come up with your shop name?
My blog existed as Yarn Miracle looooong before my shop! The origin of the name is pretty silly: I ordered yarn one morning and it arrived in the mail the next afternoon. I declared that it was a “yarn miracle” realized that was the title I’d been looking for! I’m sure I considered other names, but it was so long ago that I can’t remember any of them.

When did you start knitting?
My grandmother taught me for the first time for a play in high school. I made her a very sad scarf that she still wears (because she loves me) and forgot about it for a few years. She taught me for the second time on her birthday in 2001. That time it stuck.


What made you want to start selling your creations?
The year Ellie was on the way was the year with the massive, scandalous toy recalls. I was really appalled that the big American Toy Companies really didn’t care about children that much. Is it too much to expect that a TOY company would actually LIKE children? So I made a lot of her toys myself. Our personal economy tanked about a year later and I was looking around for something I could do from home to keep Ellie clothed and continue to contribute to BARC (our local humane society). It occurred to me that other parents might be having the same toy trouble that I did and it all sort of fell into place after that!

Please describe your creative process?
I think a lot about my toys before I start knitting them. A lot a lot. I get an idea, draw a picture if it’s a good one. Think some more about construction. Occasionally have an epiphany. Draw another picture and then start knitting months later.


What inspires you?
A lot of it is Ellie. My design interests seem to follow her development.  I’m really interested to see what I’ll be making two or three years from now as she grows and changes.

Does your shop have a theme or purpose, like crafting for charity or eco-friendly, etc.?
All my items are eco and animal friendly! It doesn’t occur to people that fiber animals are often kept in less than happy conditions – abused in many cases. And you know, why would it? Who would hurt a sheep? Even if the sheep are well cared for, their herdsmen aren’t especially interested in predator friendly techniques. So I’ve made a point of toys that are either animal free or made with animal fibers purchased from suppliers that care about the animals the fiber comes from. And as I mentioned earlier, my shop benefits my local Humane Society. Every Companion or Play Set sale gives $5 right to BARC (baldwinhumane.org).


Are your items custom or premade?
Everything listed in the shop is ready to ship, but folks should feel free to have an animal made for them if it isn’t readily available!

Tell us two of your short term goals and one long term goal:
Oooh. Short term, I’d like to conquer the house work and find a forever home for Daisy (the current foster dog – she chases the permanent cats). Long term, I’d like to raise Ellie to be a zoo keeper. I’ll settle for vet.


Walk us through a typical day in your life:
Oh my gosh that could take all day! The abbreviated version is: I’m up around 4:30. I feed the cats, take Daisy out and feed her before answering email. I work a bit before Ellie wakes up and then it’s all fun, books and games (literally – she is only 2) until nap when I get most of my knitting done. We hang out all afternoon and then it’s bedtime. I feed the animals and my family few more times in there, change litter boxes, wrap orders and go to the mail box. It’s really all very glamorous.

What is your favorite item in your shop at the moment?
I love the Rock Candy Kitty.  He has such a sleepy look. But he doesn’t photograph as well as some of the others – Chestnut Fox loves the camera.


Where on the web can you be found?
http://yarnmiracle.com will take you to both the shop and my blog. The blog will take you to the free patterns!

Leave a Reply

