Meet L. Young of LYoungStudio

On Mondays I feature other Etsy artisans on my blog. Most are fellow members of my Etsy Teams: Etsy for Animals, Attack of the Craft, Etsy Moms and the Georgia Etsy Team. Some are random Etsy sellers who I stalk whose work I love and admire. All of them are unique and have interesting stories to tell. I hope you enjoy getting to know them!

L. Young is a fellow member of the Etsy Mom Team. She creates lovely, U.S. state themed works of art.

Tell us a bit about yourself:
I’m the Mother of three sons, one yellow lab named Bud & a black cat named Tinks. I have been married to my husband Joey, for 26 years!

How did you come up with your shop name?
I owned a shop for 7.5 years, Chartreuse Pear, it was a magical place..amongst all the beautiful pieces, I sold my original artwork…which often took many forms.  I signed each piece “L.Young”…&, eventually, that’s how people came to know me. So,I just thought it was a natural transition…L.Young Studio

When did you start painting?
I’ve always loved creating.


What made you want to start selling your creations?
My shop was in Louisiana. I was constantly asked if I had any Louisiana themed art…&, being a hands-on girl…thought “hey, I can do that!”…now, I offer 50 different state collections.

Please describe your creative process?
I combine my watercolors with graphics, letters, numbers, photos, lots of study & history…


What inspires you?
The beauty & history found in nature & the people of these United States…& our connection to it all…

Does your shop have a theme?
I create “State Collections”


Are your items custom or premade?
I do not prestock my canvas’…I make each one, at the point of order…no two, are ever exactly the same.

Tell us two of your short term goals and one long term goal:
I am a mom of 3 sons (18,22,24) & I’ve been lovingly married to my husband for 26 years. My family is number one in my life….all the rest is just lagniappe (a little something extra)!(1) I hope to expand my business, offering my designs on large canvas’. (2)I add to all of my state collections, so it is an ever growing process. (3) I currently, am in several shops across the United States & I’d love to expand in that way.  (4)when all the boys are grown..I would love to slowly travel with my husband, once again, across the U.S. & around this wonderful world…


Walk us through a typical day in your life:
Up at 6 for coffee with my husband, I get my youngest son off to school/football & hit the studio to work…I create all day..painting, studying, creating canvas’, book work, correspondence, etsy, fb & delivering to my local post office…I love to cook.  So, I try to have a warm meal made each night to enjoy with my family…

What is your favorite item in your shop at the moment?
A giant acrylic painting of a Louisiana Crawfish…it’s a sample of what’s coming…


Where on the web can you be found?
www.lyoungstudio.com
www.lyoungstudio.etsy.com
www.facebook/lyoungstudio
http://lyoungstudio.blogspot.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. L.
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 12:53:25

    you are awesome!…i’m honored & blessed…joyeaux noël! L.

    Reply

  2. L.
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 12:54:23

    I posted a link on my fb page!
    http://www.facebook.com/lyoungstudio

    Reply

Leave a Reply

