Meet Ira of DesignProjects

On Mondays I feature other Etsy artisans on my blog. Most are fellow members of my Etsy Teams: Etsy for Animals, Attack of the Craft, Etsy Moms and the Georgia Etsy Team. Some are random Etsy sellers who I stalk whose work I love and admire. All of them are unique and have interesting stories to tell. I hope you enjoy getting to know them!

Ira is a fellow member of the Etsy Mom Team. She creates awesome knit and crochet items.

How did you come up with your shop name?
I love to design! Currently I express myself through crochet and knitting, but i also do other needle works, beading, fiber arts, photo design… So all in one became DesignProjects πŸ™‚ My other shop and website is www.IraRott.com (which is my maiden name).

When did you start creating with fiber?
I started knitting, crocheting and sewing when I was 8-10 y.o. I can’t believe it’s already over 20 years ago! πŸ™‚ My first projects were outfits for my dolls, doilies, rugs crocheted out of fiber. My doilies were showcased many times at school exhibitions. When I was 15 I knitted my very first sweater for my daddy. I believe he still has it. πŸ™‚


What made you want to start selling your creations?
People. The fact that someone wears my hat or mittens and enjoys it makes me happy.

Please describe your creative process?
Yarn shop…Design…Counting stitches…Knitting (or crocheting)…Photography…New Listing…Selling…Packing…Shipping…
Every step makes me happy. πŸ™‚

What inspires you?
My daughter. I started to design clothing when she was born.

Does your shop have a theme or purpose, like crafting for charity or eco-friendly?
I love to use eco-friendly materials.

Are your items custom or premade?
Some items are premade, and others have to be made to customer specifications.

Tell us two of your short term goals and one long term goal:
Short term goals- spinning yarn & more felt work. I got lots of spinning supplies this Christmas and already tried this new for me art. I just love it! One long term goal is to study. I hope to go back to collage this year. πŸ™‚

Walk us through a typical day in your life:
-Wake up at 2:30 pm after overnight work
-check my Etsy shops, website, mails, teams threads
-make a treasury
-Crafting and watching TV shows
-Go to work at 10;30 pm and after work go to bed at 8Am πŸ™‚
I love my days off, I can do more art work!!!

What is your favorite item in your shop at the moment?
My Kitty Cat Hats, enjoy making them πŸ™‚


Where on the web can you be found?
http://www.etsy.com/shop/DesignProjects
www.IraRott.com

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pili
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 17:57:51

    I must check her shop! Her items are so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

