Meet Kez of Kezbirdie

Once a week I feature other Etsy artisans on my blog. Most are fellow members of my Etsy Teams: Etsy for Animals, Attack of the Craft, Etsy Moms and the Georgia Etsy Team. Some are random Etsy sellers whom I stalk whose work I love and admire. All of them are unique and have interesting stories to tell. I hope you enjoy getting to know them!

Kez creates amazing clothes and accessories. She’s a fellow member of the AttackoftheCraft Etsy Team.

How did you come up with your shop name?
Well back at high school a friend of mine started calling me Kes after watching the film ‘Kes’ (which I believe has something to do with birds….I’ve never watched it). Fast foward a bit to when I signed up for DeviantArt I needed a user name and that’s how Kezbirdie came about.

When did you start crafting?
I’ve been knitting since I was 15 and sewing properly form the age of 18. Sewing has always been a part of my life, I have very fond memories of my mom sewing late into the night when I was a wee one ๐Ÿ˜›
Plus I have a keen interest in the fine arts, for which I’m on a BA Fine Art course.

What made you want to start selling your creations?
It was a combination of things, I wanted a job that I would love (even if it is part time), something that would help towards university costs and lots of encouragment from a dear friend.

Please describe your creative process?
Well it occssionally starts out with sketching and picking out fabrics. Or I pick up a pair of scissors and start cutting away at tee shirts.
With paintings/drawings I flick through inspirational images, or it’s work based on my current university projects which require lots of reasearch.


What inspires you?
Ooohh everything, great movies, music, nature, colours, patterns and all other random things

Does your shop have a theme or purpose, like crafting for charity or eco-friendly, etc.?
I do craft for charity whenever I can but not through my shop and I try my best to be as eco-friendly as I can.
Like using recycled packaging, finding clothes to recon and shoes to paint from thrift stores and using non-toxic paints.


Are your items custom or premade?
Both

Tell us two of your short term goals and one long term goal:
Short term:
(not business related) I want to finish up the BA fine art course I’m studying and get a somewhat decent job (hopefully)
I want to introduce a line of clothes to my shop that aren’t OOAK and haves sizes from regular to plus sizes. And to get a website set up.
A long term goal: I would eventually love to have a b&m store and to make couture pieces.

Walk us through a typical day in your life:
A typical Uni day:
I get up at 8am, eat breakfast whilst enjoying some cartoons ๐Ÿ˜€
I’m out the house by 9.30am for lecture days, 10am on the other days.
I’m back home by 6pm, I relax have fun with the siblings watch movies/tv shows/ play some lego star wars :D.
Then depending on which is most urgent I start work on sewing/crafting or more uni work, til I feel sleepy

A non uni day:
Getting up at 8am and still enjoying those morning cartoons.
May need to head out and do some shopping if not then I can get started on sewing projects which I usually do til about 2pm.
I eat lunch with mom and then commence some uni work.

What is your favorite item in your shop at the moment?
It’s a toss up between my all time fav Killer Koi shoes and the Skirt of Epic Proportions


Where on the web can you be found?

Etsy: www.kezbirdie.etsy.com
dA: www.kezbirdie.deviantart.com
Blog: www.kezbirdie.blogspot.com
FB: www.facebook.com/home.php?#/KezbirdieKreations

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pili
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 07:20:27

    I’ve always loved Kezie’s painted shoes!

    Reply

  2. bewhiskered
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 08:04:45

    Me too! I would love to own a pair, but I honestly have no idea where I’d wear them. I’d probably just display them like art. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. kezbirdie
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 18:29:25

    Thank you again for this wonderful opportunity Kenzie! โค

    Reply

Leave a Reply

