A small note on customs…

I had a lot of fun ordering a bunch of fabric today in advance of opening my custom slots again. I already have a waiting list which has filled the month of March and spilled over into April, so if you’ve been thinking of requesting a custom from me go ahead and let me know so I can put you on the list!

Here are the details on how my custom orders work:

I love a challenge, but I am honest with customers about what I am and am not able to create concerning a custom. Customs generally take two weeks to create. If it will take longer I’ll let you know. I allow for one custom per week so if you have a special date contact me early. I try to keep in good contact with custom order customers so you know where I am every step of the way. If the Ruggle is highly specialized and would not appeal to anyone but you, I require payment in advance to start work. Otherwise, I generally hold off on client specific customization options (like belly stitching) until after I post your listing and pictures. That way, should you not like the way it turns out, there is no obligation to buy. I do ask that you let me know within a week of your reserved listing being posted if you have changed your mind and no longer want your item so I can offer the Ruggle to others.

Some customization options:

* Choice of animal (I’m willing to attempt any animal and so far have only found one that doesn’t look right no matter how hard I try – that would be monkeys)

* Embroidered eyes (note: these are done by hand, by me. I’m not an embroidery expert, but I do my best and promise to keep cross and wall eyes to a minimum.)

* Belly stitching (past examples of custom bellies can be seen on my flickr account: http://www.flickr.com/photos/bewhiskeredetsy)

* Satin or fleece belly

* A preference for certain colors or types of fabric in the claws or mane

To request a custom, just email me or send me a convo on Etsy.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pili
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 13:28:54

    I’ll keep all of these in mind if I were to ask for a custom, maybe for the niece?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

