Meet Stacie of The Clay Pony

Once a week I feature other Etsy artisans on my blog. Most are fellow members of my Etsy Teams: Etsy for Animals, Attack of the Craft, Etsy Moms and the Georgia Etsy Team. Some are random Etsy sellers whom I stalk whose work I love and admire. All of them are unique and have interesting stories to tell. I hope you enjoy getting to know them!

Stacie is a fellow member of the Attack of the Craft and Etsy for Animals Teams and makes awesome Scandinavian inspired folk art.

How did you come up with your shop name?
I first made some Dala Horse figurines for my mom and sister in law as Christmas presents. I really liked how the figurines turned out and wanted to make more to sell, along with other animals. Around that time I wanted to leave eBay and open a shop at Etsy. Etsy seemed like a much better place for serious crafters. I wanted to create all new branding with a new name to go with it. I named my shop TheClayPony after the Dala Horses that inspired my new shop.


When did you start making jewelry?
I started making and selling jewelry on eBay in 2004, but I’ve been crafting for almost my whole life. The first thing I remember creating on my own was a crayon drawing of a robot with a picture frame I made of popsicle sticks. I think I was 4 or 5 at the time. When I was little I wanted to be an artist when I grew up.

What made you want to start selling your creations?
I took just about every art and computer graphics class at my college, I was wanting to be a Graphic Designer. In one of my Design classes we had to make tangible products, sculptures, and 3-dimensional mixed media art. I decided I liked creating things with my hands more than just designing it on a computer. I then took the plunge into starting my own handmade business. All my computer design learning hasn’t gone to waste, I still make digital artwork that I print and use as focal points in some of my polymer clay pendants, and on some of my animal figurines.


Please describe your creative process?
Usually something just pops into my head of something I want to create. After that I build a prototype with clay, then make a silicone mold, and cast the final product with either polymer clay or resin.

What inspires you?
Scandinavian folk art as well as cartoons from the 80’s. Sometimes I combine the two in my creations. My pastel animal figurines and jewelry are made with my Scandinavian animal shapes and painted with a small red heart on their butts, as a nod to Care Bears and My Little Pony.


Does your shop have a theme or purpose?
I love animals, and they often appear in my work. I’m a member of the Etsy For Animals (EFA): Artists Helping Animals street team. Items I create for their monthly themes have a percentage that I donate to the Etsy For Animals Charity Of The Month.

As far as eco-friendly goes, I’ve just found a new brand of clay called Pardo Jewellery Clay, which is eco-friendly and made with beeswax. I’m starting to make the transition of making my resin figurines and jewelry with the Pardo clay.

Are your items custom or premade?
All of my listed items are premade. I also custom make items as special requests.


Tell us two of your short term goals and one long term goal:
My short term goals are (1) to make enough different items to fill up 7 pages in my shop (the most I’ve had was 4 pages), and (2) to start doing craft shows.
My long term goal is to get my items into B&M stores, ideally in the Scandinavian shops in Door County, Wisconsin.

Walk us through a typical day in your life:
On a typical weekday I workout for an hour after having breakfast and checking my email. I reply to any shop related questions and thank customers for their orders. Then I look at the long list of sold out items that I need to remake and restock, and decide on which ones I want to work on that day. I’m also constantly coming up with ideas of new items to create, and have to decide if I want to work on something new or something from my sold out list. I stop working to have lunch and watch two episodes of Fraggle Rock on TV (I love shows from the 80‘s!). My shipping cut off time is noon, so everything that’s sold from the previous day after noon, and during the morning of the current day gets packaged and brought to the Post Office for mailing. I then write to all my customers with their mailing info. After that I get back to working until late afternoon, then I get to relax.


If you could have any super power, what would it be?
I would like to travel in time.

What is your favorite item in your shop at the moment?
My Neverending Story Auryn necklace. It took about 30 days to sculpt and carve the original prototype to perfection. I’m so pleased with how it turned out, that it’s rewarding for how long it took to make it.


Where on the web can you be found?
My website: www.theclaypony.com
Etsy shop: www.etsy.com/shop/TheClayPony
My geekery items are on this page at AtatckOfTheCraft: www.attackofthecraft.com/shop/showcat.php?cat=500&ppuser=43
My Artfire shop: www.artfire.com/users/TheClayPony
On consignment at MauStudio: www.maustudio.com
Creative Animal Relief, where 100% of the sales go to animal charities:
gena.bizland.com/CARWebsite/index.php/online-shoppe.html

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheClayPony
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 21:44:47

    Thank you so much for featuring me in your blog!

    Reply

  2. bewhiskered
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 22:07:31

    You’re most welcome! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sars
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 07:25:17

    The golden chain necklace like MLP’s Queen Celestia. Man, I’m not gonna lie, but it needs to be said. Reminds me more of a an old cartoon with a little field mouse that was called, “The Secret of Nihm” and your necklace I think would represent more of the necklace that little field mouse Nihm wore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

