Meet Jen Ell of Ankle Biter Apparel

Once a week I feature other Etsy artisans on my blog. Most are fellow members of my Etsy Teams: Etsy for Animals, Attack of the Craft, Etsy Moms and the Georgia Etsy Team. Some are random Etsy sellers whom I stalk whose work I love and admire. All of them are unique and have interesting stories to tell. I hope you enjoy getting to know them!

Jen Ell is a fellow member of the Attack of the Craft Team and makes awesome clothing items for adults and children.

Tell us a bit about yourself:
I’ve been cutting, sewing, destroying, creating and painting my own clothing and jewelry for years. I started with an adult line and eventually moved into kids stuff.

How did you come up with your shop name?
I just had a serious brainstorming session. I bounced ideas off others. I also knew I wanted it to be more humorous instead of cutesy.

When did you start sewing?
I probably starting sewing things by hand when I was wee kid. I eventually migrated to the sewing machine, and I haven’t looked back.


What made you want to start selling your creations?
Everybody told me I should, so I did.

Please describe your creative process?
Ummmmm it varies. Honestly, I just get into the mood to sew and I sew like a mad woman. The trick for me has been to plan ahead and make it more organized.


What inspires you?
Everything. I love reading all the great blogs you can find out there. I often find ideas on those that I can alter and make my own. Sometimes they even spark a completely different idea.

Does your shop have a theme?
Just kids. I also try to keep things bright and cheery, not your typical pastel lacy kids stuff.


Are your items custom or premade?
I can do both, and I have done both. All you have to do is contact me!

Tell us two of your short term goals and one long term goal:
Let’s see the easy answer would be gain more customers, but of course to do that I have got to put more into it. That is definitely on my list. I am actually working on overhauling my Jen Ell’s Revenge shop. My style has changed and I am changing my shop to reflect that. I think that’s important, because in the end I will want to wear what I am making and I think I will more energy into it because I will enjoy it more. For my kids shop I have so many great ideas. I will definitely be introducing some new designs.


Walk us through a typical day in your life:
Depends…if it’s during the week at my boring 8:00-5:00 then I get up at 6:30ish, get to work by 8:00, leave at 5:00, get home around 5:45. There’s not a whole lot of time for crafting for me during the week. Especially not right now with my wedding coming up. I have been working on all of that during the week so I can focus on the business on the weekends. The weekend days are basically stumble from my bed to my sewing room the minute I wake up which is usually somewhere between 7:00 and 9:00. I grab something to drink and some breakfast somewhere in there. I eventually break for lunch and then go right back to it. When I stop depends on what my day has in store.

What is your favorite item in your shop at the moment?
In the kids shop, I love the green, pink and white pillowcase dress. I just love the bright pink, and I think the leopard gives it a little bit of attitude.


If you had any super power, what would it be?
I would think it and it would be done….kind of like a witch. I could so much more done during the day. If not that, then the ability to speed up time so I could fast forward through my work week, and get tot he fun stuff on the weekends.

Where on the web can you be found?
anklebiterapparel.etsy.com
http://jenellsrevenge.etsy.com
http://jenellsrevenge.com/

Leave a Reply

