Baby gifts…

I thought I’d share my standard baby shower gifts. I know everyone likes the cute, and it’s hard to resist the cute, but I stock my gift with useful things and manage to fit the cute in along with them.

As a general rule consumables are always appreciated. If they’re going the disposable route, diapers, wipes and disposable nursing pads. Parents choosing to cloth diaper should have a registry for such things, but if they don’t wet bags, fabric wipes and nursing pads are good choices. I wouldn’t get cloth diapers unless you know the brand and style they want. Also things for an older infant are welcomed, like sippy cups, utensils, plates and bowls.

Here is what I give, specifically, along with approximate costs. You won’t find clothes on this list since I’ve never known a new Mom who didn’t get plenty of clothes.

Lansinoh Disposable Nursing Pads (about $10 a box)
These are the best boob pads I found. They work great, hold a ton of milk and stay put. Whether they plan to breast or bottle feed, new Moms will need these when their milk comes in.

Fabric Cube or basket, for storage (around $7)
This is also what I pack all the other goodies inside. As a Mom you can never have enough storage. I love the cubes for toys and books, but a nice basket works just as well. The cubes come in fun colors and they even have animal ones so you can get cute with them.

Playtex Insulator Sippy Cup

Sippy cups (2 packs are about $8)
My favorites are the Playtex insulated ones (pictured). I also like the ones by Nuby, but really any will do.

Pirate and whale bib by HipViolet

Bibs (as much or as little as you care to spend)
You can never have enough bibs. Once the baby starts teething, they become an instant drool factory. The terry cloth ones are good for drool, and the plastic backed ones are good for feeding. Here’s another chance to add some style and cute to your package. Etsy is chock full of awesome bibs.

If the recipient has a registry, I will usually get one or two small things from there to round out the package.

Snow Leopard Ruggle

And of course, a Ruggle! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pili
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 08:26:41

    Very good ideas! I’ll keep them in mind when my friends start having babies!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Pretty Baby Girl Gifts | "Ask" Gifts Hampers

Leave a Reply

