Erik’s First Birthday

I can’t believe it’s been a year since my little chunk was born. We celebrated his birthday yesterday, Viking style.

I think everyone had a good time. 🙂 It was a smaller crowd than our usual parties since I only know 4 families with kids in Erik’s age range and two of them declined. All told there were 6 kids and 6 adults. I found it much more manageable than our usual guest list so I might cut back on who I invite for the others. LOL

I made Viking helmets, of course.

Each child also got a plush dragon (I asked for colors ahead of time so there was no “but I wanted the RED ONE” angst to deal with). I heavily modified a pattern I found online, and it was really my first time making up a plush pattern as I went along. I think they turned out pretty good.

I made a small Viking ship out of half a milk carton, a straw and some paper. I filled it with Swedish fish and gummy sharks.

I made a big Viking ship out of a cardboard box and filled it with Erik and his guests. Hee.

The cake was just a white cake with red food coloring swirled in (Jake decorated the top with mounds of sprinkles). I had planned to make a dragon shaped cake, but got a migraine the night before which put a halt to that plan. In any case, it was enjoyed.

It was a lot of fun, and I wasn’t up until 4am making anything which is always good. 🙂 Now I get back to working on taxes, which haven’t been too bad this year. I’ll give an update later this week on Bewhiskered’s charitable contribution and announce the charity for 2012.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pili
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 08:01:19

    Such cute Viking hats! Gotta love the dragon plushies too!

    Reply

  2. Mandy
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 09:27:43

    That looks AWESOME, Kenzie!! I hate that we missed it, but my little germ-sponges keep soaking up ick. We’re getting Linnie tubes on Feb 3rd, so hopefully we’re moving toward normal.

    Reply

    • bewhiskered
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 12:11:59

      We missed you, but I totally understand. Jake and I are still fighting the sniffles. Jason had tubes as a kid and says they helped him greatly. Here’s hoping they do the same for Linnie!

      Reply

  3. EdenGalleryArt
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 19:50:45

    What a fantastic party! I can’t believe it’s been a year either!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: (Slightly Sneaky) Jumble Spoiler – 02/25/12 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

